top of page
  • Writer's pictureCallum Winfield

Beginning Steps - Week 4

Updated: Dec 20, 2020

Week 4 Update


This week I began work on the model that I would begin to practise a lot of the key goals I wanted to achieve from last weeks update. Unfortunately I didn't get close to what I wanted to get done but later into this week I plan to have a lot of progress done on this model. The model I'm currently work on is of a police officer as I can practice a lot of the techniques I want to get better such as hard surface modelling and sculpting clothing. I also feel like this model could be used in my current game idea for some renders of what the game would look like. Below is the current mood board for the character, personally my mood board gets updated and bigger every stage of the model so by the next week update this mood board should have tripled in size.

Below is the current state of the model, I have established the base proportions and there is some basic muscle definition in place. I'm not going into a heavy amount of detail on the body as for the model I shall build up several layers of clothes so the only areas of skin that shall be on show are the face and hands so that's where I will focus the detail on the skin level. This model is also at a good level to be used as a base for any future male characters for this Idea with only a few tweaks needed if the character will be bigger or skinner.

Moving forward there are several things I wanted to get complete this coming week with most of the key objectives being carried over from last weeks update. Key objectives being to have the police model fully sculpted leaving only the hard surface modelling on him and the further steps down the pipeline. I also want to begin to collect mood boards on Pinterest surrounding my overall idea to start to visualise aspects of it.


Mini Goals


- Practice sculpting clothing using the cloth brush (Carried over from last week)

- Retopologies Model

- Pinterest Boards on game idea

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page