top of page
  • Writer's pictureCallum Winfield

Plan for Semester - Week 3

Updated: Oct 25, 2020

Over the summer break I began to learn more advanced 3D techniques this included sculpting and then retopolgising that model. Baking a normal map and texturing through Substance painter and exporting this texture back to blender. I've also learnt basic knowledge in rigging and weight painting joints to get natural movement. To continue on this year in 3D, I would like to refine these skills and learn new methods to carry them out. I would also like to continue using these skills or more varied models and textures to explore possibilities. I will start on this by working on my next personal 3D character where I can continue to improve these areas.

Over summer I also used several of the characters I made to practice my composition (as seen below) this is an area I would like to also explore to improve by researching cinematic shots and different styles of composition. I feel like creating renders like this inspired by future game ideas for the semester would be a great way to demonstrate gameplay features and story beats.

I would also be interested in improving areas such as programming and animation yet I feel these are areas I will focus on more later into the semester. By the end of week 4 I want to have started working on my next personal 3D character starting with the sculpt and practising that area of the 3D character pipeline.



Mini Goals


- Have next character nearly complete by end of the week

- Practice sculpting clothing and texturing fabric

- Improve retopolgising a character, breaking it into several unwraps for a more high quality texture


Areas to Research


- Retopology in Blender

- fabric texturing in Substance Painter

- Using the cloth brush in the blender sculpting tab


Further Weekly Development Logs


- Show screenshots and renders of current 3D models

- talk about new learnt skills and methods

- establish the next set of goals for that upcoming week

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page