top of page
  • Writer's pictureCallum Winfield

Week 12 - Unreal Engine Realtime and Lighting Demostration

Once I had showed the team the progress I had made in Unreal Engine 5 and we all agreed to use the engine moving forward, I began working on prototype scene/world that would demonstrate the realtime graphics while my team mate Phil would work on getting a gameplay prototype of a greybox scene ready. There was several things I wanted to show with this scene, one being how the dynamic lighting could look in the overall engine and how it interacts with megascan assets, how a playable character could look in a world built with these assets and how this all looks in real time overall.

This scene only really uses a small amount of assets, though with some good asset placement and some blending using the material editing tab, I could build an expansive landscape that in my opinion looks really good and compared to some of the environment work done on my previous game from second year.

Above you can see the scene from Unreal engine 5 compared to a scene from my game from second year created in Unity.

Below is a small animated scene from this game world in unreal engine 5 running in Realtime.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page