top of page
  • Writer's pictureCallum Winfield

Blender Workshop

Today we had several video tutorials demonstrating modifiers and there effects in blender. I had used a lot of what was present in these videos before, when I first started learning the program. Though it was really good to reuse these and learn new aspects to certain modifiers.

I want to make a render using techniques learnt in these first two tutorial videos so I began work on an object, which was a mix of 3 different cubes all using different modifiers to get drastically different results. To make a nice Render of this object I used one of my existing character models I've worked on in the past to give some purpose to the scene. I wanted to focus the scene around lighting and exaggerated the weirdness of the object through this method.

Below is a second render I did with this object this time playing more around with a more mysterious almost psychedelic visuals to the render. I also increased the lighting to the scene and added volumetric fog and bloom to give the image a dense feel.

Then set with the task of taking this simple blend file of a street and using the techniques seen in the first two tutorials along with the extra tips present in the final one which detailed the use of the array modifier, I began work on the next scene.

I wanted to focus on the same lighting side as my first two renders and create a striking image and mysterious feel to this render as well. I wanted to base the render off of the Giants Causeway in Ireland as I feel the Geometry is quite interesting and would be quick and easy to replicate in a messy way using an array modifier.

Below you can see the render for the 3D street scene I made, with one beauty shot and one showing the overall model. I created the stone hex's by making 5 different sized pillars and adding them to collection. Moving on to weight paint the areas which they will be present and then adding the array modifier using the pillar collection as the instance. The final stage was to add a nice centre piece object to scene so using 3 cubes again I applied a variety of modifiers to them to create an interesting shape and place a red point light in the middle of the collection of modified cubes. Using the last extra world settings seen in the other renders with bloom and Volumetric fog to get that same look, my renders where done.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page