top of page
  • Writer's pictureCallum Winfield

Markov Chains for Gameplay Idea

Markov Chains for A.I interactions within Game Idea


The use of Markov Chains in my current game idea fits perfectly with a heavy portion of my game idea relying heavily on the in depth A.I. systems for other characters in the game. In this document I will showcase two examples for now of how the A.I. will use these Matrixes to show their emotion and reaction to events that can play out in the sandbox.


Attitude to Player and Other N.P.C's


This Matrix will show how actions taken by the player and other N.P.C's will effect an overall trust value of each character and how once the overall trust of each character dips below an overall value that N.P.C will abandon the group and become insane and even violent to the player and other members.


A = player B = Character 1 C = Character 2 D = Character 3


Each character would have a set number for this example lets say they start with 5, each action the characters perform will either have a positive or negative reaction to this. Such as giving them supplies as the player would improve their trust and in turn raise the number in the matrix attached to the trust of the player.

This is the Transition Matrix I had come up for this event. I not entirely sure if it is correct but this is something I can fix down the line the important part is the idea of what I want this to do at the moment.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page