top of page
  • Writer's pictureCallum Winfield

Devlog - 13 Creating the Wildlife for The Wayfinder

The second game ready character I needed to complete for the game was of the character asset of the Gas Bag creature now given the name of Taskalo. I began the model by collecting a reference page of sea creatures that I could unpick from my original sketch. Aiming to replicate similarities on the Taskalo game character.

Below you can see the base shape I sculpted out for the character losing some areas of the concept as I felt they didn't translate well to 3D such as the eye spikes and the slimmer more jelly fish tentacles.

after that I applied some simple materials to see how the sculp looked with colours seen in the concept which I was overall happy with.

Moving on I sculpted several new levels of detail while referencing sea creatures such as Jelly fish, Octopus and squid. The new details consist of more folds and webbing to the skin along with details to the tentacles such suckers. Detailing to the beak and spikes on the Taskalo's back was also added with it resembling a bone like hard texture.

With the sculpt done I began to prepare the character to be game ready, below you can see the Cage meshes, the high poly sculpt and the low poly retopology.

Before texturing I also rig the armature with a custom skeleton that allowed for movement of all limbs. The rig was simply done with automatic weights with only some slight adjustments to vertex groups needing to be done.

When coming to texture the Taskalo, I referred to a lot of Octopus that had a blue tone skin. The texture is mostly comprised of smart textures as I was behind schedule when coming to texturing the creature. Separate textures where used for the eyes, spikes and beak.

Below you can see the model in game using a custom animation.

Below are some beauty shots rendered out in blender.

The is the animation that is used on the Taskalo in game.






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page