top of page
  • Writer's pictureCallum Winfield

Week 1 - Portfolio Progress and Future Plan

Portfolio Piece

Moving into second year, I wanted to begin work on a second character piece that would be displayed in Unreal Engine 5. I decide to pick a character from my character mood board that would improve my overal skills in anatomy and details seen in skin. The character I went with was creature from the comic series Saga. She's called Lying Cat and is a blue sphinx that is the pet of one of the main protagnists.

Went about making this character the same way as any of my others by breaking down components and design elements of the character in PureRef.


this include breaking down moodboards for areas such as -

- Lying Cat Comic

- Sphinx Cats

- Cat Skeleton

- Cat Muscle Anatomy

- Cat Mouth

- Cat Paws

- Cat Claws

- Sun Face Logo

- Gold Armour

- Yellow Cat Eyes


There is also a large image of the character on the moodboard. This is a frame from the comic that I want eventually reacreate, including making the secondary character in the scene.

I went through the process of placing the main base shapes down first blocking out the overall shape of the character while mostly looking at the reference seen of cat anatomy first.

During this whole process I would have my monitor set up like how its seen above. Once the shapes where finally in place I began use Blender's sculpt mode to start pulling the shape around untill I was happy with the initial shape. You can see this final stage below of the character.

After some base work done to the character I moved on to updating the PureRef mood board with extra image. When sculpting and shaping the body I realised I was missing alot of reference for clear areas of the character, including side profile of the body, sitting front position and skeletal structure of a cat skull.

With this new level of reference, I refined the shaped of the character and tested out some different positions to see if the overall proportion matched up when put to this test.


Infinte Journeys Community Challenge

Another recent thing that was annouced for this month is the Community art challenge by 3D artist and content creator Pwnisher. Hes made several in the past that would see several entries for the competition that in the end would be compiled into one long compiliation. The goal is to create a short animation based on an intial base template scene provided. The template that is provided for this competition is a character framed on a train with camera focused in on what is going on outside the train window.

Below you can see the result of the last competetion that was run showing the compilation of entries. There are prizes for the top entries though that is not my goal at all, I just want to see my animation feature in these high quality videos.

When thinking of a subject for the animation, I decided It would be fun to base the character and the scene off the world in the game Im currently working on, The Wayfinder. I want the character present on the train to be the robot model that is being created for the game with the overall scene showing a world in which robots are being hunted by humans.

This is the base sketch of what I was thinking currently. Although I feel like something could be to overall improve the framing with scene outside, maybe include a main focal point out the window and have the viewers focus be led to that object. I want the train to overall look filthy as if its an automated train that isnt tended to and that is why the robots are able to travel. I would also like several posters to present on the walls showing anti robot propaganda and pro robot graffiti crudeley drawn on the robots.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page