top of page
  • Writer's pictureCallum Winfield

Week 2 - Bartending Topic

The Topic of bartending is one that is close to me as before I started studying at the University of Southampton I was a cocktail bartender at the Metropole Bar situated in the Hilton Brighton Metropole for two years. A lot of the in-depth knowledge such as bar managing and mixing/creating drinks such as Cocktails, Spirits and Beers, I am already aware off and if I do take this topic forward I can explore going further in these areas and documenting them. Though what I will be showcasing in this document are some facts about the history of bartending and famous bartenders that I've come across while looking at this topic in a more in-depth sense.

Brief History of Bartending –

•The first bartenders can be found in the ancient era, when Greek and Roman revellers relied on expert craftsman to pour their favourite drinks.

•By the 15th century, bartenders throughout Europe were primarily known as innkeepers, and these professionals typically produced their own spirits and ales.

•During the Prohibition era in America Bartenders still operated in underground speakeasys

• familiar cocktails, such as the gin and tonic, were invented during the Prohibition Era

I think an obvious interesting area to explore more here, from these finding, is the idea of illegal speakeasys running in America during the prohibition era. This is something I personal know next to nothing about and feels like could hold a depth of stories and information.

Famous Bartenders through history

•Jerry Thomas an early Bartender responsible for the first Cocktail book published in 1862.

•Bill Boothy who operated as a bartender during the prohibition who published several editions of a book called worlds drinks and how to mix them

•Ernest Grant pioneered and invented Tikki cocktails as we know them such as Mai Tai and a Zombie

•Dick Bradsel who's responsible for inventing the Espresso martini when a model walked into his bar and asked for a drink that would “Wake me up and F**k me up”

(above is an illustration of Jerry Thomas)

(above is a picture Dick Bradsel)


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page