top of page
  • Writer's pictureCallum Winfield

Week 6 - Early Gremlin Designs

As I've mentioned in several other posts before this, one thing I want to work on in tandem with the game ideas, is an concept of the gremlin creature. Though obviously with the different game ideas, parts of their world would influence areas of the design.

One thing when making this design was that I don't want to look to the design of the gremlins in the Gremlin films for any inspiration, I would go down my own path for this design. Above you can see the initial mood board of the creature. I had in my mind that this creature would be a blend of the look of a Pug mixed with features of a bat, while the body used proportions of a monkey.

Above you can see the initial design. Really only just a very rough draft but it does very much get the overall idea of the design across.


Another thing I wanted to see pushing this design moving forward was how it could possibly express emotion. This can be seen in the sketch above showing it in a more aggressive position.

Overall I'm happy with this base design and feel for the time being it shows what I need it to, that being that it will be a fresh new design not resembling gremlins from the film series and the overall designable tones of the character.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page